and she sewed!

...and she sewed! by you.

having gone almost 2 full months without bonding with my sewing  machine, it’s fair to say that i’ve missed it dearly.  i’ve come to realize that this is due, in part, to my type of personality.  when presented with a smidgen of time that could be used sewing, i instead sit down with a book and study more.  that’s all well and good, and definitely makes the grades look nice (all “a’s” in my classes thus far!), but it does nothing for my creative side.  come sunday afternoon, i knew that i could take it no longer.

thankfully, before classes even started, i had cut out the majority of pieces needed for a specific quilt.  so, when i walked into my the studio on sunday, all i had to do was plug in my machine (after dusting it off), and have at it.  within 30 minutes, i could feel the tension lessen, and after a couple of hours of non-stop sewing, my brain didn’t feel like mush any longer.  i felt human again!   aren’t we so blessed to have found this creative outlet called quilting?

that afternoon, i decided that i can’t let that amount of time lapse again.  even if it’s 15 minutes, i plan on sitting myself down, daily, and feed this monster i’ve created.  it’s really not pretty when it’s left unattended. 😉

6 thoughts on “and she sewed!

  1. Hello my dear!

    As a fellow addict, I’m so pleased that you have found some time to sit and stitch! It really is a must. I feel that no weekend is complete and truly refreshing for me unless at least some amount of time has been devoted to my craft of quilting! I think you are on the right track here about finding a bit of time each day to sew. I’ve heard of some women who have a timer and set it for 15 minutes or whatever they can afford, just as long as SOMETHING has been done. I don’t know if you would have time to respond to me about this, but I think your fabrics are gorgeous and I’m wondering are they a particular line or just a bunch of fabrics you’ve collected from here or there. The colors are spot-on for my tastes, especially this time of year! Keep up the GREAT work, I’m proud of you, girl!

    Melanie

    **********
    melanie, the fabrics shown in the picture are all from my stash and most have had plenty of time to “age” *wink*. however, the ones that have the little ‘flying geese’ on them are relatively new-from barbara brackman’s “civil war crossings”. i had pre-ordered that line back in june and totally forgot about it until they arrived in my mailbox last month. it was a nice surpise! i decided that they needed to be worked into this quilt as well. a little old, a little new…. 🙂

  2. oh, I really understand you, sometimes I have no time for sewing too and that anoises me, I want to be creative and that helps me “cool” down from my hard work.

    just in love with your fabric choice for this project, whom are they from?
    they are just right for this season

    now I wait for the next pic where you reveal more

    take care and go on like that, in quilting and during classes

    ********************
    lil, thank you so much for stopping by! i’m glad that you enjoy the little ‘eye-candy’ i shared and i have stated the fabric info (the little that i have) above. i’m sorry i couldn’t be any more specific, but honestly, some of that fabric is years old! i’m using stash….whatta concept! 😉

  3. You are such a good egg. 🙂 Lovely fabric. Too bad I do not have any of the fabric in the photo. LOL. I am glad you are taking time to do something for yourself. I will keep you in my prayers while you continue on your new journey. And as usual I will be back to see how this project turns out. Meredith.

    **********************

    hi meredith!
    thank you so much for your prayers! they are so greatly appreciated! new pics soon, hopefully. 🙂

  4. I know exactly of what you speak . . . while it has not been a time factor for me, I recently lost my ‘sewing space’ Not too long and I was a grumpy mess. Now that a little cubby has been carved out for me, I make sure to find a few moments to sit in my little corner each and every day. I can’t wait to see what becomes of your new sewing time*s*

    ***************************

    libby, i’m so happy that you’ve been able to carve out that little nook for yourself! your quilts are always so lovely and it’s obvious that you enjoy your creative time! thanks for stopping by!

  5. “aren’t we so blessed to have found this creative outlet called quilting?”

    Yes indeed, m’dear!! Especially when I retired from a creative career and found myself back in a law office, it wasn’t long before I was desperate for something creative. Rediscovering sewing and discovering quilting and machine embroidery have been the best thing I ever fell into. Let this be a lesson to you, young lady: don’t neglect your inner/creative life.

    *****************************************

    “don’t neglect your inner/creative life”

    awww…..words from a wise woman, indeed! 🙂

  6. I just love your blog. I have been reading older posts, and you sound like a kindred spirit. Hope school is going well; but, yes, you need to take time for yourself. Enjoy the quilting. Thanks for keeping up with the blog with everything else you need to balance.

    mary (homespun5)

    ***************************

    hi mary! a kindred spirit is a welcomed one! i’m glad that you stopped by and took the time to leave me a comment. i look forward to hearing more from you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

