the quilting

thank you so much for the ‘quilt love’!  all credit goes to barbara though…i was just being a copy-cat. 😛

some of you were wondering how i planned on quilting the quilt.  that’s simple.  since i loved everything about the original quilt, i’m going to quilt it in the same manner.

the quilting by you.

if you own a copy of the december (2007) ‘vintage quilts’, you’ll see that barbara simply quilted x’s all over the middle portion of her quilt.  in my opinion, that’s the best choice since it won’t take away from the design itself.  sure, you could do all sorts of fancy and detailed quilting on this quilt, but, in this case, i think simple is better.  for the borders, i’ll do a cable design.

the quilting by you.

like i said, a copy-cat.  i’m shameless, but i’m loving every minute of the quilting.  this is what i’ve been saying that i was going to do once classes and christmas was over with.  i’m not feeling one tiny bit of guilt about sitting in my chair and quilting from afternoon right up through bedtime. 🙂  the girls and i have watched 5 episodes of ‘bleak house’ and i even slipped in a viewing of one of my all-time favorite movies: ‘sweet land’.  love, love, love it.  if you haven’t seen it, i encourage you to.  such a wonderful and touching story.

the quilting by you.

okay, back to quilting!

6 thoughts on “the quilting

  1. I think you quilt design decision is just right – sometimes plain and simple is all it takes to make a quilt sing!
    We loved Sweet Land, too . . . . maybe it’s time to add it to the Netflix queue again.

  2. Your quilt is as lovely as the original. It’s ok to be a copycat if you must own that quilt., after all, you couldn’t buy it! The quilting looks just right, love it.

  3. Ah, I was thinking about your quilt and also wondering how you would quilt it. As I thought about it I said to myself, “the only way that would look right are diagonal lines in each square”. Lo and behold, as I tuned in this am, there is what I had in mind! I don’t think we can get enough of this quilt, Tracey, so – show it often.

    Oh, and thanks for the movie rec, I’m always looking for a good movie.

    : )

  4. Fantastic!!! I agree with anniequilts, I can’t get enough of this one. I have the issue of the magazine, and that quilt jumped out at me as well. I just love to see any kind of hand quilting on blogs. 🙂

Leave a Reply

