24 hours-road trip

court yard by you.

  after kathie had given me the heads-up last week about a museum that had an abundance of antique quilts on display, i decided to take a well-deserved (and long overdue) break from the books and head eastward. 

museum by you.

 

(photo courtesy of packwood house quilt blog)

i could spend days looking at/studying antique quilts.  they are my greatest source of inspiration.  this specific exhibit, however, i could have spent months looking at.  the quilts located in the gallery (carriage house) were all focused on the pennsylvania german style/colors.  just as the heavily detailed album quilts are attributed to baltimore, the bubble gum pink, poison green, sky blue and chrome yellow colors of these gorgeous quilts are a dead giveaway that the maker was from pa.  they were stunning and beautifully displayed.  since there were no photographs allowed, i planted myself in front of each and every quilt and studied them thoroughly…made a few notes, a couple of drawings, and then drooled.  once i made my way through all of those, there was a 27 room house to make my way through, with many more antique quilts scattered tastefully throughout.  the creative side of my brain was ecstatic!

finally, after many hours of note taking and admiring, i pulled myself away (was. so. hard.) .  we decided that since it was such a beautiful day, we’d walk down the lovely town of lewisburg a bit and take in the sites.

lewisburg library by you.

i was highly impressed with lewisburg itself.  it’s such a clean and lovely preserved historical town. 

before long, it was time to climb back in the car and head back to the hills though. 

back into the hills by you.

i left with enough inspiration to last me a really long time.  i have no doubt that there will be a quilt come out of the whole experience, and i’m already wanting to go back to admire more.  really, if you love antique quilts and are within reasonable driving distance (or even if you’re not!) to see the exhibit, go!  it ends october 24.  take your notebook and sketch pencils with you. 🙂

7 thoughts on “24 hours-road trip

  1. oh lucky you! so glad you got to see them I do hope I get to go back and do some drawings of the few quilts I would love to reproduce or make quilts inspired by the ones I loved.
    Can’t wait to see what you make from your visit there.
    Did you buy the book?
    Kathie

  2. I do have a love of red and green quilts, but I think my favorites have always been the yellow, pink and green ones. OH I could live in that room for quite a while and not get bored of staring! Thanks for sharing.

  3. I went tp the exhibit this weekend and had a great time. Glad you were able to take some time and enjoy it. It was inspired again which I needed.

Leave a Reply

