41

birthday rose

another year has come and gone, hasn’t it?  it seems like it has flown by, yet so much has happened within that year’s time.  am i still singing the praises of the 40’s?  you better believe it!  probably more so than i was a year ago. 8)   if the rest of my 40’s follow along the same path as the last year, i will be thrilled…but i think it’s all in what you make of it.  forty-one is just a number, but behind that number is a whole lot of learning, living, growing and finding out who you are.  i’ve arrived at places that i never thought i would have, and it feels wonderful.   i could sit here and wish until i was blue in the face that those “places” would have come along a whole lot sooner, but that would be wasting time, wouldn’t it?  instead, i intend to keep my focus on the here and now and feel blessed by it all. 🙂

celebrating started early…last friday to be exact.  i had a *wonderful* time with some friends.  sunday brought some more celebrating;  the more ice cream, the better!  however, on my actual birthday (yesterday), i had to drive into the ‘big city’ and then go to the hospital for clinicals.  it didn’t leave much time for sitting back and taking it all in.  but today…ah yes…today, i took full advantage of a day off of school.  i stayed in my jammies and i sewed.  my goodness, it has felt fabulous!

who i am

and these little darlings are the result of that glorious time spent at my sewing machine.  look familiar?  yeah….remember that quilt that i have had stuck in my head for almost 2 years now?  it’s taken me this long to figure out what direction i was going to go with it all.  it finally all came together for me, out of the blue, about 2 weeks ago, and i quickly got the bits of ideas down on paper while i remembered them.  i’m anxious to see how it will progress, but i’m sure it’ll be a slow one simply due to lack of time.

so, now that i think about it, i’ve had almost a full week of celebrating my 41st birthday (or, as darcie brilliantly puts it, “blue sweater day“!).  i’m really, really lovin’ 41. 😀

 

16 thoughts on “41

  1. No acking allowed!!! 😉 You’re beautiful, inside and out.

    Glad you’ve gotten to stretch out the celebrating a little. How fun! Way to embrace this wonderful 41st year of your life!

    Love and hugs….

  2. Happy belated birthday! Who does like having their photo taken? You are quite photogenic swithout realising it I think.
    Love the quilt blocks. I’ve always loved that quilt too, it makes me smile.

  3. First of all, I can finally post comments on here without signing into my wordpress account that I’m forever forgetting the password for…and this makes me happy. 🙂

    And umm…oh yeah…Happy Birthday mom!

    *gasp!* A picture of you! 😮

Leave a Reply

