that’s all folks

sunrise

last week, i was fortunate enough to spend 6 days in michigan with gwen marston.  it was a much needed break for me, and i sewed my little heart out the whole time (without feeling a bit guilty!).   my diligence paid off and i was able to finish a whole quilt top during my stay (which i have yet to photograph).  if you ever get a chance to attend one of gwen’s retreat, don’t hesitate,  it’s well worth it.

cattails

the time off of school and work also gave me time to reflect on  things.  my life has changed so much in the past 5 years.  i only have 5 months and 8 days until i graduate nursing school (that’s 85 more class days, in case you were wondering).  i’m also now retired as a homeschooler.  my youngest daughter is attending a private christian school and she absolutely loves it and is doing extremely well.  being a homeschooling mom for 15 years, i have to add that it works, but you have to be willing to put in the time.  we made the right choice 15 years ago to start homeschooling when there were no private christian schools available to us, and homeschooling was, quite frankly, not the “thing” to do.  now that we do have a fabulous christian school available, it was the right choice  to move ahead at this time.

loner

after much thought and consideration for several months, i’ve also decided that i’m stepping back from the public blogging forum for various reasons.  when i started blogging back in august of 2005, my life was in a different place than it is today.  i have been keeping a private journal for quite some time, but for now, it will remain private.  with it, i don’t feel pressure to update it regularly like i do this one.  i will continue to post pictures on my flickr account,  and if you desire to follow me there, email me or leave a comment here, and i’ll forward you my info for that venue.

i thank you all for the encouragement, the laughs, and the inspiration during the past 5 years.  i hope that during that time my blog was a place where you could leave with a smile on your face.

i wish you all the very best! 🙂

36 thoughts on “that’s all folks

  1. I was so happy to see your “name” pop up in my Google Reader today. I have for the past few years read your blog with much joy. I wish you all the best! … and would love to follow you on flickr – pretty please… Thank YOU for the last five years:) Una in Norway

  2. Hi there I found your blog a bit late perhaps , right when you took a long break, Id like to follow you on Flicker, please send me the way to it, I really liked your quilt, the last one we saw before you got a job ..
    Thanks Izzy

  3. I’m sorry to read that you’re stepping away, though it’s understandable. I consider the same thing periodically. I would like to have your flickr link…perhaps you’ll post some of your work from the Marston retreat…?
    All the best to you!

  4. Well, I for one will miss you, so if you don’t mind, I would like to follow your quilting projects. I am so glad to hear that you got so much done at Gwen’s. I will be leaving here Tuesday morning for her retreat. Sure wish we could have met up for the same week session. That would have been fun. Keep in touch.

  5. Enjoy the next part of your journey. I would like your flicker link if that is ok. I remember when I first found your blog.

    I enjoyed everything you wrote. Especially the photos and the kindness. I also enjoyed when you wrote about fear and snow, and what your values were. The rifle rack post. I could go on and on. Really Thank you. You are a beautiful person.

  6. I will so miss your posting. Your blog is one of the first I started reading, and I soaked up every word and loved every picture – especially the quilts. Having two daughters who have been through nursing school, I understood your breaks for study time! But life does change things, and maybe someday in the future you’ll be moved to start publically writing again. Thank you for all your inspiration; God bless and be with you. Catch you later in Heaven someday 😀

  7. I have enjoyed your blog since I had found it, eons ago. Good luck finishing your schooling, it is a difficult journey, I know. I want you to know that the greatest advice I ever received from my nursing school advisor, 13 years ago, was to make sure I take time out of every week just for me. No work, no housework, no cleaning, no homework. Just selfish me time. It really works. Take care of you, good luck, you already are a great nurse you know. Hugs, Elaine

  8. my very best wishes for you and your families future…ah a dream , as you know of mine, is to attend a Gwen Marston retreat.
    I would love to see the quilt you made and ah tell me all about your meeting the amazing Gwen?
    thanks
    Kathie

  9. My dear Trac, I hope we can still keep in touch in the future. Just like we’ve always done. Not daily…not even weekly…but just ready to pick up where we left off whenever either of us needs the other.

    I love that your life is going in just the direction that suits you! Singing praises for that!

    You are such an inspiration to me in so many realms. To you, all my love and hugs….

  10. I echo the above sentiments. Your thoughtfulness, love of God, faith, quilts, photography, honesty; all caused me to be an avid reader. I felt I’d found a kindred spirit-sister in Christ. Please send flicker info when you can. Life is full and full of choice. Good for you for listening to your inner voice.

  11. I. too, will miss your postings. I may not be exactly a “kindred spirit”, but have enjoyed your stories and perspective. I’ve also enjoyed watching your progress down this new path, and am sorry not to see it through to completion.

    I’m going to miss your lovely photographs…perhaps you could send me the Flickr address??

  12. Oh, how sad that you won’t be “publicly” writitng anymore…I so enjoyed reading your words….I would like to follow your work on flicker….if that’s okay. I noticed that your archives are gone….is that permanent ? Going back in time and looking at your lovely work is so enjoyable…hope they’re not gone for good?? Good Luck with the nursing career!

  13. Dear Tracey,

    Thank you so much for your inspiring posts and eeh beautiful pictures you took! I learned a lot from you.When i take a oblique picture it will remind me to you :-))
    I do understand your leaving in bloggingworld. I wish you all hapiness and love in your life. Maybe we can share our experiences so now and then.

    Lucy

  14. As the others before me, I will miss your posts and was looking forward to hearing about your nursing career after you finish school. I was excited to see a post pop up in Google Reader as a friend and I were just commenting this weekend at a retreat how we missed your blog. I also noticed your archives are gone. You made a beautiful red and green Christmas quilt a couple of years ago I would love to make. I would like to be included in the flicker info to look at your photos. And my DREAM is that retreat with Gwen Marston!! Hope to see photos of that as well. Many blessings as you continue on your life’s goals ahead.

  15. I would definitely like to continue to follow your progress…in life, in nursing and (hopefully!) in quilting pics! I am so sad about your leaving the blogging world…and I am worried about what that means for MY life! I am also a homeschooling mom with only one child left at home. I am also a quilter who is going back to school for nursing…and frankly, I am worried. I LOVE to quilt and I have seen how your posts have gotten fewer and farther between as school and work have taken over. I am a CNA now and that takes tons of time and on my days off I just want to SLEEP! I have to force myself to do the thing that I LOVE to do(anything and everything involving quilts and quilting!)-and I haven’t even started school yet!
    Anyway, I wish you the very best in all you do. I know that you are excited to start this next phase of your life and I am so happy for you! Thank you for sharing your life with us and inspiring us with fabulous pictures of your quilts!
    Tricia

  16. Thank you for your transparency and honesty in talking about tender things. Your blog has been a blessing and an encouragement. I’d love to follow you on flickr. God’s richest blessings to you.

  17. Ummm,mm……… I can’t remember if/what you sent back to me regarding how to follow you on flicker…..what info is it that I’m suppose to have in order to “follow you”???? OMG~ I really am loosing it!!! Thanks for bailing me out~~

    ps~ would you be able to address the concerns of myself and a few others as to the status of your archives? will the archives (pleazzzzzzzzeeeeeeeeeeeeee) be available to us????)

  18. So sorry to hear that you will no longer be blogging. I loved your blog and will miss it, but I understand that you need to do what is right for you at this time in your life. I too am wondering about your archives, would you be willing to put them back up even if it’s just temporary? I would like to follow you on your flicker account please. I think it’s wonderful that you are following your dream to be a nurse. I wish you all the best.

  19. Tracey, it’s been lovely to read your posts as you transitioned to where you are today. I too have felt less need for the public forum–just haven’t made the formal exit that you are making. I will miss reading your thoughts but have no doubt your life will continue in the same sensitive, reflective, and productive ways we’ve seen from you in the past. I hope to find you again should you decide to come back to a more public sharing of your life. Meantime, I would love to follow your quilting and photography via flickr. Best of luck and much affection.

    Jane Ann

  20. Tracey….so happy to hear of all the wonderful events taking place in your life. Congratulations! I will miss your blog and your amazing photographic eye. Please add me to your flickr account. All the best to you and your family and keep up the good work in nursing school…you dream is almost complete!

    Many Blessings,
    Cheryl

  21. I know you must be extremely busy…just wondering if you could tell me (again) your flicker info so that i may follow you?? thanks! hope all is well with you~~

  22. I realize this is very late, but I would love to follow you on Flickr. I also wanted to share with you that I’m seriously considering going back to nursing school at the age of 51! Yikes! We’ll see what the Lord allows, but this is all in His hands. I’m tentatively excited and scared all at the same time! I miss you!
    Melanie

  23. I want to thank you so much for the tutorials for back-basing. I have used your multiple layers technique and really liked it. I have never seen or heard of another technique like it. Good luck in your future as a nurse. I would love to have your Flickr link too, if you want to share it. Thanks so much.

Leave a Reply

