feathering the nest

Even though we’ve lived in our new home for over 5 months, it’s only been within the past 6 weeks that I’ve taken on the task of decorating it.  When we moved out of our other home, I sold a good portion of the pictures and such that I had simply because I was tired of them.  I figured that after 20 or more years of service, it was time for them to move on.  It has taken me awhile to figure out how to go about decorating Thee Mission, simply because it is so different than our old home.  Slowly, as the weeks pass, I’ve been adding some touches here and there, and I’m liking it!

 

I found this little gem at a arts and crafts fair about 2 months ago.  It was love at first sight.  After striking up a conversation with the artist, I learned that he tears down old buildings (barns, cabins, etc) and uses the wood to make his creations.  He also uses the old slate he acquires for the roof.

 

 

I’m totally smitten with this little house and can easily imagine what it would have been like to live in…if I was a troll that is.

 

 

 

 

I’ve always wanted to decorate the top of my corner cupboard, but in our previous home, the ceilings weren’t high enough for me to squeeze something up there.  Now, our ceilings range from 9′ all the way up to 18′.  No problem with space this time around!  These boxes I found on Etsy definitely make things more interesting along with some dried flowers and a little crock.

 

The most recent addition is a new dining room table.  We have a breakfast area as well as a dining room in this home, so our old dining room table went into the breakfast area.  For the dining room, I wanted a larger table that could seat many for our holiday dinners that I love to hold.  After I came up with a plan and some measurements, I headed out to see my favorite Amish carpenter (and previous neighbor), Roman.  After patiently waiting for over two months, we were able to pick it up last week and I totally love it.  The man continues to amaze me!  I now can easily seat 10 versus the 6 that my old table allowed.

 

 

 

Finally, the dining room at Thee Mission is starting to take shape.  A few more purchases and some quilts, and I think I may be able to call a room “done”.  Bring on the turkey!

Leave a Reply

