flashback

Some of you long-time readers may remember this which was originally posted on February 10, 2007:

 

 

this morning, i woke up and put my game face on.  i was going to finish  the quilt.  i wasn’t going to kill time doing other piddly things (besides…i couldn’t come up with anything new anyways).  no, this quilt was not going to go another day undone. 

just to refresh your memory, we started out with a basketful a few weeks ago…

 

 

 

 

…and we ended up with this…..

 

 

now, let’s recap the stats for this quilt:

-started January 1, 2006

-did 2 blocks a day until 702 blocks were made (december 17,2006)

-all civil war reproduction scraps

-top completed february 10, 2007

-there are 9,464 strips

 

Yes, that was almost 5 years ago that I finished my little log cabin quilt.  Five years.  !!!  Is it quilted yet you ask?  Nope….not yet.

 

 

But at least I’ve started quilting it!!

 

Yeah, I know…I had said that I was going to have it machine quilted, but golly, the more I thought about it, the more I didn’t like that idea.  This quilt is didn’t ‘call’ for machine-quilting in my eyes.  Nope,  no matter how tough it was going to be to hand-quilt this bugger, I was going to do it…and I am.  Honestly, it hasn’t been that bad at all.  I’d say that it’s “well seasoned” after 5 years, wouldn’t you?

 

I’m off to stitch some more on it while it’s snowing and so cold outside my window right now.  A roast is in the slow cooker and a fire is going in the fireplace.  Mmmm….life IS good.

3 thoughts on “flashback

  1. That quilt has been on my mind ever since you first showed it. Part of me thinks I’m going to make one – the rest of me knows I probably won’t. But I so enjoy seeing yours again after all this time. Thanks for the update.

  2. Wow, I just came over from Julie K’s blog list and this Civil War log cabins quilt stopped my heart for a few beats as it is so beautiful. Good for you for making the commitment to hand quilt it, it’s a treasure!

Leave a Reply

