I needed that

Here we are, a mere step away from the official start of autumn.  What a glorious season.  I use to be a closet admirer of the season, unwilling to admit my adoration of it simply because winter always followed.  How unfair is that?  Now, I embrace it completely.  My absolute favorite if truth be told.

The summer of 2013 will go down as one of the most relaxing I can remember in a very long time.  I’m not ashamed to say that we did nothing so to speak.  We lounged on the back porch, enjoyed many evenings around a fire, listened to the crickets, took leisurely walks through the woods, made many batches of homemade ice cream sandwiches.  During that time I had a chance to think a lot about time, and home, and life.   It was all so very good.  There was even some quilting that occurred, although nothing that can be shared at this point (it’s a gift).

Now, I’m ready to move onto fall and see what it has in store.  My mind is already working through preparing Thanksgiving dinner, more time spent with family and friends and decorating home, of course!  At present I’m using every last bit of restraint I can muster not to pull out the stops and go load up on pumpkins, hay bales and corn shocks!   I’m not promising anything.

So, yes, the summer of 2013 will be known as a success.  A very restful one.  I’d even love to repeat it in 2014!  We’ll see…

2 thoughts on “I needed that

  1. truly a lovely shot into the woods….and the season to come. I have been debating about putting out “fall” deco… but hesitate as fall will not be here for six more weeks….. weather wise, but the light has turned fall like…. oh heck, just get the stuff out and decorate decorate decorate…. I may even acquire something new item. Thanks for the push.

    • Susan,
      Our light has been fall like for over a month, and the weather has just turned accordingly. Obviously all of that doesn’t help my case! 😉

Leave a Reply

